Is Your iPhone 6+ Causing a Car Accident?
The brand new iPhone 6 and 6+ have become the most popular phones of 2014 over the last month since they were released by Apple. No matter how hard you try, it’s almost impossible to keep up with technology these days and innovative companies like Apple are always keeping users guessing as the latest products take over the market. While these Smart Phones may be convenient, helpful, exciting and fun…they also are one of the leading causes of traffic accidents in today in America.
California has always been “ahead of the game” when it comes to creating new traffic laws. Cell phone laws are the prime example of some of the latest laws developed to keep up with our ever-changing way of life and its dependence on technology. In 2012, California Law Officers gave our 425,041 tickets due to cellular phone infractions and this year they are well on their way to handing out even more to get the message across about just how dangerous it is to use your cell phone while driving.
In 2014 – 2015, get ready to see even tougher laws and regulations in this area as more measures are passed in federal courts. These laws will particularly target “teen drivers” and place further restrictions on their age group since they are commonly higher risk drivers. Our staff here at Remland Insurance wanted to share a quick list with you about the current cellular phone laws here in the state of California and will keep our blog and website updated when any new laws are introduced.
Current Cellular Phone Prohibitions:
- Adult Drivers (18+) banned from using any cellular device unless using a hands-free device
- Drivers under 18 are prohibited from using wireless phones while driving with or without a hands-free device
- School bus drivers and city transit bus drivers prohibited from using cell phones while driving
- Text messaging banned for all drivers
So be careful out there. Using your cellular device is not only dangerous while operating your vehicle and could cost you lots of money if ticketed; it also created many opportunities for a rate increase on your current California auto insurance. The more offenses you obtain while driving, the higher your rates can go. The current fines for driving while using cell phones are: $20 first offense then jump to $50, $76, and $190 and beyond depending on your county. Don’t drive distracted! It can save a life!