California Auto Insurance Requirements
Here are some of the most important things to consider when buying California Auto Insurance:
When an individual does not have the required insurance coverage, their vehicle can be impounded at any time. In addition, there is a significant fine to those individuals and, in case of an accident; they bear personal responsibility for any damages that have been done. Even when a person is in a fender bender, they can be personally responsible for several thousand dollars if they are not insured.
California insurance companies are electronically linked with the Department of Motor Vehicles. When insurance coverage has lapsed, the DMV receives automatic notification and the registration on the vehicle is suspended. Police departments also automatically check registration status when they stop a car for any infraction. If the registration is suspended the car is impounded immediately.
To meet minimum liability requirements in California you must have $5,000 property damage; $15,000 injury/death for one person; and, $30,000 injury/death coverage for more than one person. The mandatory coverage does not include collision or comprehensive coverage so your personal vehicle is not protected in an accident.
The California auto insurance requirements for coverage have not kept up with inflation so normally, in an accident, the minimum requirement will not cover the total expenses incurred in the accident. Therefore, getting the coverage you need will be very important when you are driving in the state. An individual who is new to the State will find that they are often commuting in heavy traffic, on freeways and roadways, for long distances each day. Since the cost of replacement and repair of vehicles has skyrocketed, there is a great need to assure that you have the amount of coverage that you will need in case of an accident.
Having coverage that will provide you protection if you are hit by an uninsured motorist will be invaluable. Uninsured Motorist Coverage will pay for the costs you incur if you are injured by an uninsured driver. A person who is driving a vehicle that has a suspended registration and is not insured will be unlikely to have the funds available to cover your damages and injuries. Having this coverage will provide you with money to cover the loss of vehicle and hospital costs if they are needed. Read more about California Auto Insurance Requirements.